How an Expungement Lawyer Changed My Life

I’m a simple girl, living in Central Texas. I will admit that I have made mistakes in my life, but the one that has haunted me for years was due to simply being naive. As a result, I was a soon to be elementary school teacher in need of clearing my criminal record by obtaining a felony expungement in Texas. If you’re reading this, you probably know exactly what that is, so I’ll cut to the chase and give you a link to the expungement lawyer that I speak of so fondly later in this article. Oh and you’ll notice some videos within my article. I know this can be a serious and touchy subject so I threw in some funny videos about court cases. I hope you like them. OK, let’s move on…let me start at the beginning.

Back in the Days When I Didn’t Even Know What a Felony Expungement Meant

I lived with a boyfriend in my late teens that sold marijuana. I didn’t think anything about it until the police arrived with a search warrant one evening. By the end of the night, I had been charged with possession of marijuana, which happened to be more than 4 oz.  This is a felony in TX. My case was presented to the grand jury several weeks later and it was “no billed,” meaning they didn’t believe there was enough evidence to send me to trial. My boyfriend went off to prison and I went off to college. After that one night in jail, I knew that this was not the life I wanted to live. I did great in college and was beyond excited to start my life as a teacher when I graduated. I knew that I had been charged with a felony, but after 4 years I assumed that it no longer mattered since I hadn’t been convicted. I sure as heck didn’t know I would need an expunge attorney either.

Learning I Needed an Expungement Lawyer the Hard Way

Apparently, it only mattered that I had been arrested and charged with a felony, not that my case was no billed. It still shows up when a background check is run. This means that, after working for four long years and graduating from college, I couldn’t work as teacher. After a bit of internet research, I contacted an expungement lawyer with the hope that I could get a felony expungement. I learned that, in TX, the laws are rather strict regarding who can qualify to have a felony expunged. Thankfully, I qualified due to never having been convicted on my possession charges. If I had been convicted, I would have had to receive a pardon from the governor before the courts would consider expunging the charge.

The Glorious Day When I Could Clear My Criminal Record

This part was relatively simple thanks to the fact that I had hired an expungement attorney with plenty of experience in this field. The hardest part was waiting. Thankfully, the 2 year statute of limitations on the possession charges had already passed, so I was only waiting on the court’s decision. After 45 days, the order was granted. However, it takes a few more weeks for the Texas Department of Public Safety to seal the records. Finally, I was able to clear my criminal record and apply for a teaching position.

Don’t fall into the trap I did! Do not assume that just because you were not convicted, you have a clear criminal record. If you have been arrested for a felony, you have to complete the felony expungement process to clear your record completely and to be able to check “no” on job applications when asked about a felony record. Like I said earlier, if you’re reading this you are probably involved in something similar. I can’t express to you in typed words the relief of having my life back. It truly is a second chance in life. Feel free to ask me questions if you have any.

Leave a Reply

